Hatomugi Skin Conditioner

When you own as many beauty products as I do, the idea of having a single formula that can be used all over the face and body can sound pretty attractive.

So, when I was sent this very big bottle of the Hatomugi Skin Conditioner to try, it was definitely the multipurpose functionality of it that had my attention.

Multi-purpose beauty products will always appeal to me. I fantasise about having less clutter, about saving time, and about killing all birds with the one stone. Of course, my reality is so much different and I’m actually still tripping over my many bottles and jars even as I write this.

Hatomugi Skin Conditioner 500ml

At only RM29, it’s a B-I-G bottle so there’s plenty to go around

Anyone read Japanese?

Anyone read Japanese?

 ABOUT THIS HATOMUGI SKIN CONDITIONER

This is made in Japan and it is popular as an all-in-one type of product to hydrate, tone and even out the skin for improved clarity and radiance.

The formula has a very thin, watery consistency and no scent. Unlike some products, this thankfully leaves no uncomfortable residue to speak of and I don’t need to rinse it away after application.

It’s really very water-like and non-sticky, non-greasy and feels completely weightless and refreshing when applied to the skin.

Being both fragrance-free and with no added colours, the softly milky colour of the Hatomugi Skin Conditioner is the result of the natural ingredients present in it.

Thin & Milky

Thin but Milky

Watery

Water-like consistency

 SO, WHAT IS HATOMUGI?

Hatomugi is the Japanese term for Job’s Tears  and is a barley-like grain and this is what the hatomugi seed looks like…

Job's Tears

Job’s Tears seeds are edible, can be used in beauty formulas and even dried and hardened as beads for jewellery!

[via]

The Hatomugi grain is also known as Coix Seed and it is the extract from this seed that is the active ingredient in this skin conditioning product.

One of the key features of the hatomugi seed is its extremely impressive moisture-holding qualities and it is therefore famed for its highly effective properties in rehydrating and soothing skin.

The hatomugi seed is also popularly consumed as a grain in countries across Asia and is a popular ingredient in drinks and soups as a herbal remedy to cool down the body as well as for its famed ability to encourage skin elasticity.

Hatomugi Skin Conditioner

Hatomugi Skin Conditioner

So, named after its core ingredient – Hatomugi, the Hatomugi Skin Conditioner is a no-fuss skin formula that is handy as a moisturiser,  toner, soothing agent for the face and body.

And apparently, continued use of hatomugi extract on the skin helps increase the amount of natural Hyaluronic Acid in your skin and we all know Hyaluronic Acid is critical in skin tissue repair and overall good skin health.

This chart shows that after application of hatomugi extract the level of Hyaluronic Acid in skin cells will more than double!

Hatomugi Chart

Hatomugi Chart [Source: SASA]

 USES

The Hatomugi Skin Conditioner can be used in the following ways-:

  • As a very lightweight, face and body moisturising fluid that absorbs easily into the skin, dries quickly and feels like nothing once dry
  • As a mask. Simply soak a few cotton pads with this Hatomugi Skin Conditioner and layer these pads around the face. Allow to rest for 5-10 minutes.
  • Applied to soothe sunburned or stressed skin
  • Decanted into a clean spritzer bottle and used as a soothing face and body mist for a cooling and hydrating effect on hot day
  • It can be used as part of your greater skincare regime for the long term to improve your skin’s level of Hyaluronic Acid which in turn has an effect on skin cell renewal, skin clarity and anti-ageing

 

INGREDIENTS

This is the ingredient list for your reference-:

  • Water
  • Butylene Glycol
  • Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate
  • Coix lacryma-jobi
  • Styrene/acrylates copolymer
  • Dipropylene glycol
  • Alcohol
  • Citric Acid
  • Sodium citrate
  • Methylparaben
  • Propylparaben

I am aware that this product contains alcohol and parabens but as I said in a previous review on this blog, I’m still unsure of how I feel about these ingredients.

What I do know is that this product does not smell or feel astringent which, for me, is a turn off.

It also doesn’t dry out my skin and to date, I’ve had no allergic reactions from it despite my mild eczema and even though the packaging mentions that it isn’t suitable for eczema sufferers. That said, it’s common sense that you should not apply it directly to a flared-up area or an open wound, for that matter.

I’ve noticed now that many of my skincare products contain alcohol so a prejudice against alcohol would basically wipe out half my stash and I admit that I’m still hesitant to go fully non-alcoholic with my beauty products.

In fact, one of my all-time favourite cleansers, Cetaphil, contains alcohol and it works well on my skin and was prescribed to me by a dermatologist during a bad skin flare-up.

Add to that the fact that some of my blogger friends do claim that a little alcohol has an antiseptic function that is good for skin problems like acne. I guess whether this is true for you depends on your own skin-type and preferences.

In any case, I’m going to leave it up to you as to whether this is an issue. Alcohol is, by no means, an illegal ingredient in skin care so it all comes down to you and what you feel your skin can tolerate.

You will also notice that there are parabens in this formula and there has been much hollering about either their presence or absence in beauty products but the truth is, nothing has ever been able to establish paraben as a proven carcinogen so the argument is still speculation.

Anyway, what we do know understand is that the presence of parabens in cosmetics and skincare does greatly improve their shelf-life especially when a product’s other ingredients are derived naturally.

 

FINAL WORDS

There’s nothing fancy or pretentious about this product. It’s a very straightforward and simple formula to hydrate and condition your skin in one easy step.

It feels gentle and refreshing when swabbed on my skin and it did not cause me any outbreaks of spots or rashes. It’s quite an unassuming, fuss-free product and seems to do what it promises to very little fanfare.

The good news is that it is very affordable as far as Japanese skincare goes. At only RM29 for a 500ml bottle, it won’t break the bank and is economical enough to be used daily all over the face and body.

Personally, I like using it as a body product because I already have so many skincare products for the face and the price of this really makes it economical enough for this purpose.

It leaves a nice, clean feeling on skin that is comfortable for daytime application. It’s also a good type of moisturiser for evening application before bed as it absorbs so quickly and won’t transfer any stickiness to your bed linen.

This is the first time I’ve used what is known as a skin conditioner as opposed to something that is clearly either a moisturiser or a toner.

As a moisturiser, I like that it is a refreshing alternative to some of the more gelatinous lotions and creams that I’m used to and it really does absorb much easier in comparison so there’s no effort other than a gentle swab across the areas that you want to apply it to.

As a toner, I appreciate this product’s lightness and absence of stickiness, scent or astringency.

The only issue I see is that it is really so lightweight that it absorbs completely into the skin and if you are in more extreme climates like the freezing cold or dessert-weather, this will not be emollient enough for you as a moisturiser.

Locally, you can pick up a bottle from SaSa stores or, if you’re reading this from abroad, it’s also available from SASA.com

RRP: RM29 for 5ooml.

SASA Malaysia Facebook

SASA.com

sasa logo

[Disclaimer: Product was sent to me for trial and review. Opinions and commentary are my own. Consider at your own risk. All links are non-affiliate and for informational purposes only. Please seek the advice of a licensed medical professional if you are unsure of any allergies. Unless indicated, all images belong to me and may not be used without permission and a credit link back to this blog.]

6 comments

  1. It’s the first I’ve heard of this type of product, so I’m intrigued. But I love how it’s unpretentious and just plain does what it’s supposed to do. 🙂

  2. @ Matromao: Absolutely, sometimes instead of bells and whistles all we want from a product is that it does what it says. This was my first experience of a ‘skin conditioner’ but apparently, the Japanese have long been using these all-over skin conditioners for years and perhaps that’s why they are famed for their great skin, do you think? Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I like that skin products are shying away from artificial fragrances… this sounds tempting, kind of a like a jack of all trades with the number of uses it has.

  4. @ Sharonsree! How have you been?! I agree, there does seem to be a sea change and I’m liking that we’re seeing more products with little or no colours or scents added.

  5. @ Evan Chang: Yes, gotta love Japanese skincare products AND I hope to see you soon too – love chatting makeup and skincare with you!

Leave a comment

