Mecca Maxima – Australia’s Answer to Sephora

MeccaMaxima

Without doubt one of the best things about travelling for a beauty blogger is discovering amazing beauty shops in other parts of the world and when I stumbled upon a Mecca Maxima store in Sydney, Australia it was like all my Christmases had come at once.

Mecca Maxima ~ Australia's answer to Sephora.

Mecca Maxima ~ Australia’s answer to Sephora.

If you’ve never heard of Mecca Maxima then let me tell you that this paradise of cosmetica is essentially Australia’s answer to Sephora. Given that Sephora has yet to set up shop in the Aussie market, Australian beauty addicts no longer have to lust after brands that were once only available overseas.

Mecca Maxima currently has outlets in Victoria, Queensland and NSW with two stores in Sydney, NSW at Waringah Mall and Parramatta. The Parramatta store is only two months old so it was by spectacular timing that I came across this gem during this rare visit to Westfields Parramatta.

Get a makeover in store!

Get a makeover in store!

As expected, it’s filled with some of the best selling beauty brands in the world with a range that rivals Sephora but add to that a few more Aussie and US brands that aren’t found easily in Asia and then you have a shop that any self-respecting beauty junkie must make a beeline for. In fact, a trip to Oz would not be complete for a beauty blogger without exploring Mecca Maxima! You really do have to see it for yourself! It’s bl**dy Fabulous with a capital F!

I love the service here!

The service here is excellent –  the staff double up as beauty advisors and MUAs and are simply fantastic!

Mecca Maxima has MUAs instore to help you create the look

Mecca Maxima has MUAs in each store to help you create the perfect look from all the makeup products available.

Like Sephora in concept, the vibe is a little louder with a good music track and lots of sexy mirrors and strategically placed lights among the trendy bright pink and black decor. One thing of note is that the Aussie service is notably bubblier than at our local Sephoras. In fine Aussie style, all the staff are chatty and enthusiastic and you feel like you can ask them anything about their products.

There are also plenty of dressing table stations placed around the store and customers are encouraged to sit at these and get made up on the spot in the variety of premium makeup brands carried by Mecca Maxima. The MUAs do a great job on their customers too and I was very impressed with how gorgeously professional one customer’s eye makeup had turned out. It was red carpet perfect and she looked like a million bucks.

One of the best things about my visit to Mecca Maxima is that their ultra-friendly staff let me take as many pictures as I wanted of their store which is something that some shops would frown upon and it’s because of this open generosity that I can now share with you just how fantastic Mecca Maxima truly is.

My only lament is that I only had my phone’s camera with me so bear with me for the low quality shots.

So here is my whirlwind photo tour of Mecca Maxima for your enjoyment…

BobbiBrown

Bobbi Brown and her perfect face products.

Bobbi & Katie

One of the offsprings of the Bobbi & Katie (Holmes) Collaboration 2013

Bobbi & Katie

Bobbi & Katie

[via]

I was eyeing a Bobbi X Katie collaboration palette but it was a little pricier than it is in the States but it is a set that I am definitely going to look up locally. According to Katie herself, her palettes are all functional and so easy to use you can put on your makeup in the back seat of a taxi.

But since the Bobbi & Katie collections are available here I didn’t pick one up on this visit.

NARS, of course!

I think I spy an Orgasm! It’s the NARS Orgasm, of course!

Smashbox

Smashbox still smashing records with their popular cosmetic range.

YSL!

YSL! Mecca Maxima stocks old school cosmetica too.

By Terry and Hourglass

Cult overload with By Terry and Hourglass in the same row!

Bare Minerals

I can barely contain my excitement at this point – bareMinerals!

On the day I shopped at Mecca Maxima there was a Gift with Purchase promo for transactions over AUD85 and I scored a bareMinerals loose eyeshadow for my efforts. Thank you Mecca Maxima!

Bare Minerals - All The Faves Set

bareMinerals – All The Faves Set @ AUD54.95 (GST Incl). Image via barescentuals.com

Stila

Always a favourite ~ Stila. The Convertible Cheek Colour is still my favourite Stila product of all time.

Kardashian

Something for everyone…Kardashian Beauty, The New Black and Ciate.

Kardashian Beauty is big on the heavy lash look so it wasn’t surprising to find a complete false lash range by Kim & Co. This was the first time I got up close to the Kardashian Beauty collection. I’m not sure that Kardashian Beauty is available in Malaysia yet.

Kar-Lash-ian!

Kar-Lash-ian!

Originally named Khroma, there was a legal tussle over the original name with a similarly named cosmetic brand so after a drawn out legal battle the collection has now been relaunched as Kardashian Beauty. These paparazzi goddesses certainly wear enough of the stuff so it comes as no surprise that these infamous K-sisters have now created a brand of their own.

Kardashian Beauty Eye Palettes ~ 3 Sets each reflecting the personalities of Kim, Kourtney & Khloe respectively.

Kardashian Beauty Makeup Palettes ~ 3 Sets each reflecting the personalities of Kim, Kourtney & Khloe respectively.

[via]

Kardashian Beauty is available at the famed Ulta chain of beauty shops in the US and Feelunique.com online but Kardashian Beauty is now available in Australia at Mecca Maxima.

Skincare

Premium skincare in one handy location ~ Ren, Eve Lom, Perricone MD, Darphin & Dr. Dennis Gross all in a pretty row.

More skincare ~Soap & Glory,

A wall of pampering goodies ~ Soap & Glory, Kit, Philosophy & Kiehl’s.

Scattered around the store are the ‘Beauty To Go’ fixtures featuring special sample-sized and deluxe editions of beauty products and tools. It might not seem a big deal to Malaysian customers but to Australian beauty junkies there was a time when getting beauty miniatures locally required a trip through an airport duty free so Mecca Maxima is truly bringing an entirely new shopping experience to Australian beauty shoppers.

Beauty To Go

Fancy a last-minute stocking stuffer or Secret Santa gift?

The many ‘Beauty To Go’ bins around the store are a must to browse for an eclectic selection of deluxe beauty goodies at good prices.

Australian brand Kit

Australian brand – Kit.

You won't find Kit

You won’t find Kit in this country so stock up if you have to when you’re Down Under.

Kit is an Australian brand that features extensively in Mecca Maxima stores because the Founder of Kit is Jo Horgan and incidentally owner of Mecca Maxima. Kit and Mecca Cosmetica are standalone brands and now house labels of Ms. Horgan’s Mecca Maxima empire.

Jo Horgan, Founder of Mecca Maxima, Kit & Mecca Cosmetica stores across Australia and New Zealand

Jo Horgan, Founder of Mecca Maxima, Kit & Mecca Cosmetica stores across Australia and New Zealand

[via]

The Limited Edition shower gels by Kit are amazingly scented and really smell good enough to eat.

I thought I was in heaven at Lush Cosmetics until I came across the Kit Shower Gels. I went a bit overboard and in a fit of shopping madness picked up 9 bottles of the Kit gels to lug home in my luggage despite the fact that they seemed to weigh a tonne each. Lesson learnt: next time I’ll stick to hauling makeup instead of heavy shower gels when I travel.

I promise a review of these to come soon!

Too Faced

Too Faced – Need I say more?!

A Fragrance Wall

A Fragrance Wall of scented goodies for you and your home.

Haircare

Haircare @ Mecca Maxima with Bumble & bumble & Living Proof. The Bumble & bumble hair chalk sprays looked interesting.

With Christmas

Gift ideas – with Christmas around the corner the Holiday sets were out in full force

More festive sets

Festive sets by Too Faced. The Too Faced ‘Jingle All the Way’ Limited Edition palette looks like an iPhone 5 @ AUD38.95.

I hope you enjoyed this virtual browse through Mecca Maxima in Sydney as much as I enjoyed shopping there. Do drop in and discover it for yourself if you’re ever in that neck of the woods.

I picked up a copy of the current store catalogue during my visit and am still reliving the awesome in store experience I had there. I can’t wait to get back to Mecca Maxima on my next Australian visit but in the interim I think I’ll be needing to swing by my local Sephora for a cosmetic eye candy fix.

Mecca Maxima Ultimate Gift Guide

The Mecca Maxima Ultimate Gift Guide

So many good things

Too Faced is too good!

Lusting after these

I’m lusting after the glamourous Bobbi & Katie sets. Katie Holmes looks so glam here.

abc

Rebecca Bon Bon!

Apparently Rebecca Bon Bon is a French bulldog who looks like a cat and is the brainchild of the creator of Hello Kitty. The packaging is super girly and Parisian with lots of cute French-inspired motifs.

Brands @ Mecca Maxima

   A Beautiful Life
   Antonia’s Flowers
   Apot.Care
   Archipelago Botanicals
   Aurora Spa Rituals
   Balenciaga
   bareMinerals
   Beauty Essentials
   Bobbi Brown
   Bumble and bumble
   By Rosie Jane
   By Terry
   Byredo Parfums
   Calvin Klein
   Catseye London
   Chantecaille
   Chloe
   Ciate
   Clarins
   Clarisonic
   Clean
   Clinique
   Comme des Garcons
   Cupcakes & Cartwheels
   Darphin
   DEUX LUX
   Diptyque
   Donna Karan New York
   Dr Brandt
   Dr Dennis Gross Skincare
   Dr. Lipp
   Duo
   Eau d’Italie
   Editions de Parfums by Frédéric Malle
   Egyptian Magic
   Elemental Herbology
   Ellis Faas
   Escentric Molecules
   Eve Lom
   Eyeko London
   Filles Des Iles
   GlamGlow
   Harajuku Lovers
   Hourglass
   Japonesque
   Jurlique
   Kahina Giving Beauty
   Kai
   Kardashian Beauty
   Kate Somerville
   Kevyn Aucoin
   Kiehl’s
   Kissing Elixirs
   Kit Cosmetics
   Kitsch
   Korres
   L’annine
   L.A. Medical
   Lancome
   Laqa&Co
   Le Labo
   Lea Journo
   Lipstick Queen
   Living Proof
   Maison Francis Kurkdjian
   Malin+Goetz
   Marc Jacobs
   Mario Badescu
   Mecca Cosmetica
   Michael Kors
   Miss Ferling
   MOR
   Murad
   Nars
   Nude Skincare
   Origins
   Perricone MD
   Peter Thomas Roth
   Philosophy
   Radical Skincare
   Rebecca Bonbon
   Ren
   Serge Lutens
   Shawn Burke
   Smashbox
   Soap & Glory
   Stella McCartney
   Stila
   Sunday Riley
   Talika
   Tatcha
   The New Black
   THIRDMAN
   This Works
   TOCCA
   Too Faced
   Viktor & Rolf
   Wei
   Yves Saint Laurent
* Note: Not all brands or products are available at all stores, please refer to Mecca Maxima’s website/ store contacts for details *

logo

* Products are also available online @ Mecca Cosmetica Shop but unfortunately for us shipping is currently limited to Australia and New Zealand.

Mecca Maxima Facebook

10 comments

  1. @Mieza, Hey, I hope you get to visit Oz and Mecca Maxima too one day! I love, love, love Australia! I just got back and want to get back to Oz asap and back to Mecca Maxima too as it’s insanely cool but I have to admit that we’re pretty lucky to have some amazing beauty shops here that Aussies can only dream about e.g. Sephora, SaSa and all those cool Korean/ Taiwanese beauty brands.

  2. This is absolutely amazing! It is infinitely more tempting than Sephora here or SG! Thank you for the gorgeous virtual tour. You are indeed a fantastic guide!

  3. @Arpita, you’re welcome! This was definitely one of the highlights of my trip and I was so lucky to come across it. I seriously love trawling beauty shops and pharmacies when I travel, don’t you?

  4. Welcome back, ShopGirl! Did you buy the whole shop? Reading this and browsing through the pictures makes me feel like Oz is worth another visit. And instead of exploring more wineries, I should make it a point to explore beauty retailers like MM too. I spot By Terry, my current love affair 🙂

  5. Wow… thanks for taking us on a photography tour at Mecca Maxima!
    I could just spend hours & hours looking at all those beautiful cosmetics displayed on the shelf. Just like a dream come true… =)
    Oh…I would love to get my hands on the Kardashian Beauty cosmetics. I’m eyeing on their make-up palette. It’s gorgeous!!!

  6. @ Laura, hi! I wish I could have lugged the whole shop home with me. This is definitely a stop you have to make time for when in Oz but then again so are all the other many lovely places in Oz. I miss it already.

  7. @ Nadia, it’s always fun to scout for new cosmetic companies on my travels and this place is a complete buzz. Kardashian Beauty is pretty novel. I wonder if Sephora will be bringing it in here.

Leave a comment

