Daiso Detergent for Puff & Sponge ~ A ‘Cheap as Chips’ Makeup Brush & Sponge Cleanser

For me, washing makeup sponges and brushes goes to the top of my list for being the worst part about using makeup but unless I want my tools harbouring bacteria and causing breakouts on my skin, then it is a chore that has to be done.

Daiso Detergent for Puff & Sponge

Daiso Detergent for Puff & Sponge ~ a dirty brush’s best friend.

I’m sure there are some very wonderful brush and sponge cleaners on the market by MAC, Bobbi Brown and their designer friends but I’m a complete cheapskate when it comes to brush care.

I’m sorry but I just can’t help the feeling of knowing that a single bottle of MAC cleanser running at around RM60 (effectively the equivalent of a decent lipstick) makes me want to go and wash my tools in the nearest pond and be done with it.

In the past it wasn’t unusual to find me at any godforsaken hour scrubbing at brushes with everything under the sun – baby shampoo, bar soap, conditioner, hand soap, makeup remover, olive oil… You name it, I’ve tried it.

I even did a rather shabby run with toothpaste, resorted to trying Dettol and considered WD-40 so yes, the washing process has always been insanely ambitious, heavily laboured but questionably successful.

abc

Brilliant stuff! This is very easy and economical to use.

So when I was browsing Daiso recently and came across this ‘cheap as chips’ detergent I knew I couldn’t leave the store without grabbing a bottle for a test run.

Anyway, Daiso being Daiso, this bottle only cost me RM5 (god bless the notion of a RM5 shop) but what do you know, it actually works very, very well at getting all the gunk off my sponges and brushes.

At the time of publishing this post, I’ve stocked up a fair number of units of this new darling of mine because I should probably expect a little stampede now that I’m letting the world know how great it is but I just couldn’t resist sharing and putting a fellow makeup junkie out of some brush cleaning misery.

So yes, just between you and me – this is a gem of a product and makes brush and sponge washing so much more tolerable. I wouldn’t go so far as saying the chore is now a joy but the Daiso detergent has just about quartered my washing time with dirty brushes.

It also no longer takes as much elbow grease to get all my lovely brushes and sponges back to working order again and the best part is that a little goes a long way.

Instructions in Japanese

Made in Japan. Instructions are in Japanese and English.

The Daiso cleanser itself is fragrance-free and therefore neutrally-scented. It also runs as a nice, clear fluid that’s neither foamy, greasy or tacky.

The good news is that my own personal trials have revealed that this Daiso formula is not only effective on brushes or sponges that have been used with powdered product but it seems equally adept at tackling those tools that have been used with stubborn and greasy liquid makeup.

Clear and watery

Clear and watery, the formula effectively yet gently dissolves away makeup residue on brushes and sponge without damaging the tools.

To use, add a little detergent to a shallow saucer-like container and work the detergent into your brush bristles by swirling the brush gently in the vessel before rinsing off in a separate container of water or under a tap; repeating until all visible sediment is gone. I like to wriggle some of the detergent into the heart of the brush head with my fingers just for good measure.

For sponges, I apply it directly to the sponge and massage it it in with my fingers before rinsing under a running tap and squeezing off the liquid until the spongewater runs clear.

At only RM5 this stuff is simply amazing.

At only RM5 a bottle, this stuff is simply amazing.

Sure, you might get superior pH-balance or a personal kick from using a cleanser from the big makeup houses but for my regular brushes and daily sponge jobs the Daiso detergent is a complete steal and really couldn’t be more perfect for the job at hand. Love it!

Daiso Detergent for Puff and Sponge – 80ml/ RM5 (less than USD2)

Available at most Daiso stores around Malaysia and probably worldwide.

8 comments

  1. This is brilliant! I only ever use MAC’s brush cleanser for spot cleaning, but that’s only because the bottle is bottomless for that purpose. I haven’t bought a 2nd, and I don’t intend to. I’m an advocate of Baby Shampoo personally, but this looks so intriguing! I must try it! Thanks for the tip!

  2. @Swee San, trust me at RM5 a bottle this is completely worth a go and I’ve tried almost everything to do the dreaded task. Grab it now before everyone else discovers it 😉

  3. @ Summer Ramirez: Thank you so much for sharing your review of the Daiso Brush Cleaner. It was a great review!
    I have heard other bloggers comparing the efficacy of this to the Puff & Sponge Detergent I am using here and apparently the Puff & Sponge version is superior. I might try this when I really can’t get my hands on the P&S detergent but at the rate I’m stocking up on it – I should have enough detergent to last me a good couple of years!

Leave a comment

